Happenings

image

Autumn is upon us, bare trees and crunchy leaves. Cold blue days and dark evenings indoors. Its a beautiful season and I’ll be taking lots of pictures like these to capture the full pallet.

image

Last month while it was still technically summer, we went on our annual September jaunt. This time we branched further afield to Somerset.

image

Poole Bridge campsite is situated right in a valley with a river running through it and plenty of rambling country nearby.
We stayed for 4 nights to make it worthwhile as the drive there took 4.5 hours (and the drive back took 7!! )

image

The site was gorgeous, very quiet and the owners were super friendly but were only there twice a day or sometimes not at all!

The only problem we had was the fox which kept trying to steal our food! We’d already seen the sign about the marauding ninja squirrels (I’m not kidding!) but this fox really wanted in. One night I made the mistake of leaving a pack of teabags out after dark and she made off with them! 40 teabags ruined with fox slobber!

image

image

On day 2 we decided to walk into the nearby village of Porlock. Let’s just say I think we took the long way round. About 1.5 hrs trip and some of the steepest hills I’ve encountered. After avoiding eye contact with some cows and accidentally startling a grouse we made it to the village.

image

image

This is The Ship Inn on Porlock High St. I had two pints of gorgeous Pear Rattler cider which really hit the spot after that walk. OH had Cheddar Gorge, an incredibly strong looking orangey cider.

The walk back was shorter but so much harder. It took that record for steepest hills I’ve ever encountered and stomped on it!! My knees & thighs were screaming as were everyone else’s. We stopped midway for a rest and I was so tired I didn’t even care that the log I was sitting on was covered in spiders!
Needless to say the next day we had a chilled day at the site.

image

image

On day 3 we visited the pebble beach at Porlock Weir.

image

image

It was a gogeous view as you can see and well worth a visit.
All in all a wonderful holiday.

Yarnings

image

Actually not much new on the knitting front. This is an Italy hat I’m knitting for a former colleague. My leaving finally prompted him to buy the yarn but try as I might I couldn’t quite finish it for my last day.
Think I’ll whip up a side of mittens with that! This is my first attempt at vertical striped rib, its not looking too bad at all.
Other than that I haven’t done that much apart from carry on with the heart eyelet wrap.
I’ve been distracted from new projects by the return of Walking Dead, Homeland and AHS, plus when we went on holiday I got back into Animal Crossing…where’s a girl supposed to fit it all in??

Join the fun!

