The First Cut is the Deepest

Having compared the sleeves of my Miriam cardigan I realised the ribbed cuffs were different sizes.
I think this stems from me knitting one with 3.25mm needles and one with 4mm needles. I have several pairs of similar looking bamboo needles!
I wondered how this could be fixed, a quick Google brought up several sites offering help.
I thought I’d share the technique with you…

If any of you have ever tried its very difficult to unravel knitting from the bottom up.
So, firstly I passed a knitting needle (3mm) through the stitches on the 2nd row of grey above the start of the ribbing

image

And (here comes the scary part) snipped a stitch below the needle, this allowed me to unravel the row catching the live stitches on the needle.
The ribbed section came away whole and
image

I was able to re-knit the cuff with the correct sized needles.

image
Et voila!

8 thoughts on “The First Cut is the Deepest

    1. Thanks, I never thought cutting your work could end up improving it!
      Its really useful, I might be using it again on my Wise Owl Hat. The ribbed section seems very loose, but I’m not sure. I’ll share pics if I pull it off again haha 🙂

Join the fun!

