The Merry Month of May

Somehow it’s mid May already and I haven’t posted for 6 weeks!
I have been doing a lot of reading  and now have a ridiculous amount of new books (gotta love charity shops!). Always on the look out for yarn there too, nothing lately but I did get two pairs of knitting needles for 50 pence!  I’ve been steadily plugging away at my King Cole Zig Zag Sox in the evenings while we watch The Sopranos or a movie.

image

They are looking lovely but its slow going as I frogged  a whole sock due to it being too small. Lesson learned there!
I had taken a break from the stripey cardigan but I think I’ll be going back to it soon. I yearn to have my first hand made cardigan.

I’ve just today finished off my Jubilee tea and mug cosy set

image

image

image

image

I’ll be listing these for sale at Folksy very soon. 

At the end of last month I helped out at the Creative Stitches and Hobbycrafts Show at Aintree Race course.

image

image

image

image

image

I was helping at the Knit One,Pass It On stand which is run by the Uk Hand Knitting Association. The idea being to pass on your skills to those who have never knitted or crocheted . The seated area was called the Knitting Lounge, the theme was “seaside” and we had patterns for bunting among other things to decorate it. The knitting lounge was run by Julie Arnfield Crowther  who is a fantastic designer. She has worked for Rowan and she also appears on QVC and the Creative Crafting channel. Julie had some gorgeous kits and yarn for sale

image

image

image

image

image

I had a fantastic day and met some lovely people. I would  highly recommend attending one of these shows if you are  interested in crafts of any kind. There were loads of workshops and stalls with great bargains to be had.

So it has definately been a crafty few weeks despite the millions of books and movies . I’ve got a good few projects on the horizon… although they’re all for me! I’m planning on treating myself to some nice project specific yarn and also a sewing machine so I can whip up cushion covers and the like.  Who knows where this could lead?

Join the fun!

