2011 – a year in yarn

So… first post of 2012.

Happy New Year everyone, hope you all had a wonderful time whatever you were doing. Myself and the OH spent the night in watching Blu Rays, Alien (which looked STUNNING) followed by Rise of the Planet of the Apes.

I’ve started the new year well with 1 project already finished

A beautiful tea cosy designed by Lisa Marchand Harris. Its from the book 1,2,3 Skein Crochet by Judy Crow. Its turned out perfectly and I am really happy with it. It uses half treble stitches which I have never really done before and it creates a lovely ribbed effect. Its already one of my favourite projects that I’ve done!

I resolved to make myself at least one large garment project this year and so Ive decided to go back to something I tried in 2010. The Miriam cardigan by Susie Johns. Its a lovely striped cardigan which can be made from all your DK oddments. Initially this is what I did but the amounts I was using were too small and I ended up with too many colours, making it look really busy.

Then I started the arm in a whole new colourway which looked better but I didnt have enough to finish a whole cardi. They sit unfinished in my UFO bag, along with some knitted squares for a blanket I never made.
I’m now waiting on an order of King Cole Moods DK yarn to make this project and I can’t wait to get started!

2011 was a great year for me in terms of yarn craft. I’ve completed many projects, learnt new techniques and amassed a huge stash of yarn.
I started this blog a year ago and I’m very proud to say as of today it has had over 1500 views. I want to say thanks to each and every one of you who has stopped by in the last year.

Here’s to a yarn filled 2012!

Sign up and follow this blog or just click “like” on my Facebook page to be automatically kept up to date with all Epicyarns news.

Join the fun!

