The end of an era

So as you may have seen if you follow my twitter or facebook feeds Miriam is finally finished. Its been in a project bag in pieces for so long that it feels a bit odd now its done.

image

Its a tiny bit too small but thats due to me putting some weight on since I started it in 2011. Its warm and comfortable though and overall I’m happy with it. Next time I’d make the sleeve cuffs longer.

Just after finishing Miriam I had two weeks off work and we went away camping for a few days, back to Dolgamedd.

image

image

I took with me the heart eyelet wrap, some granny squares and some navy aran with 5mm needles. I didnt touch the wrap but I did start on a sleeve.

image

It was totally on the fly using my arm measurements as a guide. I may need to rip it back as I think the initial cast on was too small but I have an idea what I want the finished product to look like. I’ll be getting back to it shortly.

On our last full day there I started joining the granny squares together

image

By the time we got home I’d done them all. Then I started on some more, I whipped up quite a few in my first wk back at work.

image

I finished my rainbow cushion panel

image

And I’m working on a panel in tunisian crochet for the other side…

image

I’m pleasantly surprised at how easy tunisian crochet is and I’m looking forward to trying some colourwork with it.

The last 2 weeks¬† I haven’t done as much yarn work as usual actually- wk before last was my most hated shift 7-3 (because I have to get up at 5am). It messes with my body clock and leaves me exhausted. I could barely stay awake to watch tv let alone knit.¬†
I’m currently dividing my time between my book, Mad Men, my yarn work and my latest game purchase (Professor Layton & The Azran Legacy)…it takes a bit of juggling!

4 thoughts on “The end of an era

    • Thanks! I am happy with how it turned out, the colours look great together. The squares started as a way of using up scraps but now I’m dipping into my main stash!

Join the fun!

