I don’t like Crochet…I love it!

This month has been aaalll about crochet…well mostly.

First bit of news is that Itaca is finished! All I need to do is bind off (waiting for shells to arrive in the post) and block.
I’m not posting a photo as its squished onto a needle right now. As soon as its done I’ll post a pic!

So this month my friend Dave had a daughter! I’d already been commissioned to make a “frog hat”months ago however the little beauty was born a wee bit early so I sprung into action and whipped up this

image

The pattern is available free here

Despite being tiny in my eyes its still a bit big for her. It was so quick to make I’m dying to make some more!

October Challenge

This hat is made with HDC (Half Double Crochet) stitch which I’ve not done before.

I’ve also finished off my crochet collar from a vintage pattern I found at Just Skirts and Dresses

image

I used Rico Creative Micro Dk & a 4mm hook. I had to adapt the pattern a bit though. I made the foundation chain longer and did less rows as the pattern was made with very fine cotton in mind. The pattern uses trebles and chains and is finished with picot.

image

The bow is attached with a brooch pin and I’ll likely use small safety pins to affix the collar to whatever I’m wearing.

I’m really pleased with how its turned out, one of the prettiest things I’ve ever crocheted.

In sewing news, last weekend I made a slipcase to go under my granny square cushion cover. I cut up an old HMV top and fired up the machine. Took me an hour to get the bottom thread to pick up but I got going eventually.

image

It looks so much better than having the raw cushion pad under there.

I’ve also ordered some fabric and applique for some new cushion covers I’m making. Very excited about these. Photos to come!

2 thoughts on “I don’t like Crochet…I love it!

Join the fun!

